Common Questions About Louisiana Drug Possession Laws
Common Questions About Louisiana Drug Possession Charges In Louisiana 2022
Louisiana has strict drug possession laws.
Did you know that Louisiana has some of the most stringent drug possession laws in America? Louisiana’s drug possession laws are just as strict as their DWI laws. You can find more information about Louisiana’s DWI laws.
Even a tiny amount of illegal cannabis can land you in prison for up to two weeks and a $300 fine. Penalties for possessing large amounts of illegal marijuana can reach up to 40 years imprisonment!
You don’t want your loved one to be in prison for the next birthday if they were caught with drugs in their car.
Don’t stress about family reunions being held outside of the local jail. We will give you all the facts about Louisiana drug laws to help you protect your loved ones.
Any amount of drug possession leaves a permanent mark on your record.
Louisiana’s drug possession laws stipulate that being caught with any illicit substance is either a misdemeanor or felonious. This means that any amount you have will be permanently recorded on your criminal record.
It is essential to take drug possession charges seriously due to the harsh penalties in the state. A skilled criminal defense attorney must help you if you are caught with drugs.
Louisiana has a Three Strikes; You’re Out Policy.
A “three strikes and your out” rule is available that makes the third offense a felony. This is not what you want!
These marks will be visible to anyone who has access to your criminal record. People will see your drug convictions when you apply for jobs, try to purchase a home, or borrow money. This is not a good sign!
Even if the cop tells you not to worry about this small amount, it is good to hire a criminal defense lawyer to minimize the damage.
Here’s a summary of the drug possession laws and penalties in Louisiana
Louisiana Heroin Laws
Unfortunately, the heroin epidemic is spreading across the country. Heroin is one of the most addictive and deadly drugs in this world. Therefore, it is more severe than other types of narcotics, and the penalties for possession are harsher.
A small possession charge, which is not enough to get you jail time and a fine, will result in at least four years imprisonment with hard labor, and you will also face much higher accompanying fines.
A Note on Medical Marijuana
Louisiana recently legalized medicinal marijuana in cases of severe medical conditions. Because of this, marijuana is now legal if you have a medical condition.
You must ensure that you only purchase your medical marijuana from licensed sources. The penalties for illegally possessing marijuana will not be waived if you are caught, and you could also be charged with selling medical marijuana.
Common Questions About Louisiana Drug Possession Laws
Our experience in handling drug cases in Louisiana
Our attorney has dealt with drug cases and represented clients with drug offenses for many years. Because drug charges are a unique crime, Louisiana has a whole body of law that is dedicated to them. Drug charges can be interwoven, making it a sub-sector of criminal laws.
What is the Rate of Drug Crimes in Louisiana Arrests and Charges?
Many people are held in prison or jail for drug offenses. We could generally say that drug crime is the most serious crime in Louisiana and people are convicted in prisons and jails for it. According to the FBI, there are approximately 400 arrests for every 100,000 people. One arrest for every 10 is made for drug crimes, which amounts to approximately 1.25 million arrests per year.
Is marijuana still illegal in Louisiana?
Louisiana, like many other states, has undergone marijuana reform. The legalization of medical cannabis for certain conditions has been achieved. Criminal possession of the substance has also been reduced. A new state law has been passed that amends the definition of “debilitating medical conditions”. It allows a doctor to prescribe medical cannabis for “treatment” for glaucoma and Parkinson’s disease, severe muscular spasms, intractable or chronic pain, and post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).
What is the difference between a misdemeanor and felony drug charge?
A drug offense in Louisiana is considered a felony when it is subject to hard labor. A person who is convicted of possessing less than 2 grams of cocaine will be sentenced to a maximum of two years in prison, with or without hard labor. You can also be fined not more than $5,000. A first conviction for marijuana simple possession, in which the offender has 14 grams or less of marijuana, will result in a $300 fine and a 15-day sentence in the Parish jail. Simple possession of marijuana does not require hard labor. It is, therefore, a misdemeanor.
What is Possession, Sale, Distribution, and Intent to Distribute Illegal Drugs?
All drug crimes are punishable by Louisiana law. These are all drug crimes that can be punished under Louisiana law as either a misdemeanor or a felony. In Louisiana, drug crime is considered a crime that deserves punishment. It is crucial that you get the legal help of a defense lawyer to explain your case and guide you through the charges.
What is Drug Trafficking in Louisiana?
The most common drug trafficking charge is a case of possession involving large quantities of drugs. The offender is often pulled over on suspicion of a traffic violation. An officer might be able to obtain probable cause to search the vehicle and look into any evidence, including a dog that alerted to potential drugs. If a lot of drugs are found in the vehicle, the driver might also consent to the search. Trafficking can be pursued at the federal or state level. Federal trafficking charges carry harsher sentences than those in Louisiana state courts.
Can police execute a warrantless search of a residence if they suspect a drug-related offense?
An officer who believes drugs may be in residence must get a warrant to search the premises. There are some exceptions. A warrantless search of a house may be allowed if there is probable cause for arrest or a compelling reason to enter the home. Officers may need to search for evidence or protection in order to stop the arrestee from fleeing.
Do I need to hire an attorney before I’m being investigated for a drug crime?
If you suspect you may be under investigation for a crime, it is best to hire an experienced attorney. You cannot use that you hired an attorney against you during a trial. A judge or jury won’t be concerned about whether you have hired a lawyer in the early stages. An attorney can help you avoid being arrested by giving you valuable information or negotiating with police officers.
What happens in the first 24 to 72 hours after a drug-related arrest?
From the time of arrest, the person arrested has the right to confer with counsel, procure counsel, and use the telephone to send messages or communicate with his family and counsel. A predetermined bail is allowed by some courts. Otherwise, a judge will have to determine the bail amount. For the appointment of counsel, law enforcement must present the arrested person to the judge within 72 hours.
What are Drug-Related Crimes In Louisiana?
What is the procedure for being charged with drug paraphernalia possession? You could be charged with possessing drug paraphernalia if it is proven that the object was used only in the taking of illegal drugs or the operation of an illegal drugs warehouse. However, the authorities will need to prove that the objects were used in the handling of illicit drugs.
What and when do Miranda Rights come into play in a criminal case?
Only when an arrestee is in custody or being interrogated and supervised by law enforcement officers, Miranda rights are activated. An officer must question or interrogate the arrestee to determine if he was actually taken into custody. Before questioning an arrested person in charge, the officer must have read the rights. An officer must read the rights to any arrestee who is in custody. Any statement made by the arrestee to the officer as a response will not be admissible in court.